Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Web Browsers are duct.

  1. #1
    Shunned? jdeegz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,068

    Web Browsers are duct.

    okay, i can connect to everything fine. fine speeds, ect.

    i cannot find servers for my web browsers. niether IE or firefox are working. All of my rommates are perfectly fine, and thier internet is working. Any clues?

    i have done a system restore and scoured the web for an answer but to no luck.

    -Jim

    Thanks a ton for your time, again haha

  2. #2
    Germany [DE]
    UI
    UI is offline
    not quite useless. UI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Here.
    Posts
    14,928
    Honestly, I had this problem back when I lived on campus -- neither ff or IE would work...the only thing I could find to fix it was having my roomie upload a firefox.exe onto his flash drive, and then use the flash to upload the .exe on my puter. Worked fine ever since

  3. #3
    Shunned? jdeegz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,068
    wait, what? just copy somone else .exe ?
    or am i understanding that wrong.

  4. #4
    Germany [DE]
    UI
    UI is offline
    not quite useless. UI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Here.
    Posts
    14,928
    I assume so....he saved a copy of his firefox folder, which has the application (or exe, whatev) in it -- it was as simple as uninstalling ff and taking it off of his flash.

    I hope it's that easy for you, otherwise there's probably a bigger problem at hand

  5. #5
    Shunned? jdeegz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,068
    no dice chief. thanks tho UI, any other ideas? no interesting looking programs running, maybe i should try and get hijack this?

  6. #6
    Germany [DE]
    UI
    UI is offline
    not quite useless. UI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Here.
    Posts
    14,928
    yeah sorry bro...all i can think of

  7. #7
    ಠ_ಠ panic!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Winston-Salem
    Posts
    3,228
    Try Winsock XP Fix. If you had gotten any spyware, or your winsock registry keys/host file have become corrupted it can prevent you from accessing websites via any browser. I use it quite a bit at work on PCs that can ping websites but not access them.

    |MG| WinSock XP Fix 1.2

    Run it, reboot and see if it works.
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig View Post
    denny, i didn't know your cadillac had crank windows.

  8. #8
    Shunned? jdeegz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,068
    no dice on the winsock either, i can how ever ping to websites.

    i am going to run spybot search and destroy and see if anything comes up.

    thanks for all the help so far, hopfully i can fix it =\

  9. #9
    Shunned? jdeegz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,068
    some more useful information, before i decide to reformat.

    i accidently opened up windows in safe more with networking when i was trying to get into BIOS :P and the browser work.

    Hmmmmssszzzz

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 01-08-2008, 12:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Advertise:
Ads@StrafeRight.com

Terms of Service || Privacy & DMCA Policies || About Us
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 AM.
Design by DanFortH